Weather Travel What the Papers Say TV GuideLeisure
Search this site or the web powered by FreeFind

Site search Web search
Home What's new History Our Area Districts Photo Gallery Features Memories Genealogy Webshop Links Advertise Miscellany Business

Wapentakes and Ridings

Map of wapentake A wapentake was a sub-division of a Riding, equivalent to the southern counties' Hundred and became obsolete around the year 1900.


The West Riding separated from the North Riding at Boroughbridge by the River Tutt, was divided into three parts:

WEST RIDING - Agbrigg & Morley (Bradford, Dewsbury, Halifax, Huddersfield, Leeds suburbs, Wakefield); Barkston Ash (Selby, Tadcaster); Claro (Ripon, Knaresborough); Ewcross (Dent, Ingleton, Sedbergh); Osgoldcross (Pontefract, Goole, Snaith); Skyrack (Leeds); Staincliffe (Keighley, Settle, Skipton, Stainburn); Staincross (Barnsley); Strafforth and Tickhill (Doncaster, Rotherham, Sheffield).

Strafforth and Tickhill

Parishes with Area in acres

« History Index